The Board

The following are the founding directors of Harlaw Hydro Ltd. Board membership is governed by the rules of the society.

Harlaw Hydro Electric 02

Lynn Molleson Director

Lynn is Co-ordinator of JASS (Junior Award Scheme Scotland) and has many years of experience in the voluntary sector – having held a variety of posts with Edinburgh-based charities. Lynn specialises in developing new projects, community consultation and in participatory monitoring and evaluation. Lynn also has a strong interest in renewable energy and energy efficiency, having worked in the past for Changeworks on fuel poverty campaigns. These contacts formed the foundation for the Harlaw Hydro Project.  Lynn is one the four founding directors.

Ian Hynd – Directorianhynd

Ian is an Industrial designer, company director and Postgraduate student at Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, Edinburgh University. He is also the Chairman of Balerno Community Council and a director of Balerno Village Trust and has been a resident in Balerno since 1984.  Ian is one the four founding directors.

Simon Dormer – Director

Simon is a self-employed chartered surveyor with over 15 years’ experience working in the commercial property industry. He runs his own highly-focused consultancy and is both knowledgeable on planning and property-related development matters and also has broad experience in raising finance in the commercial sector.  Simon is one the four founding directors.

Martin Petty – Chairman & Company Secretary

martinpMartin is a retired IT consultant. After a long and successful career in IT management he spent 7 years in consultancy helping companies prepare robust business cases and taking approved projects through to implementation. Martin has served time as Treasurer of the Balerno Village Trust and is Treasurer of the Balerno Music Festival where he has been part of the team organising the Festival since its inception.  Martin is one the four founding directors.

Mike Molleson – Director20130105_233 crop

Mike is a Project Manager with Logan PM, a renewable energy consultancy in Edinburgh and holds a Master in Renewable Energy Engineering, with distinction, from Heriot Watt University.  Mike moved to Balerno with his family in 2004 and their many walks around Harlaw Reservoir led them to explore the possibility of installing a hydro facility there.  This idea eventually led to the formation of Harlaw Hydro.

Johanna Carrie – Director

Tony Allen – Director and Treasurer

Andrew Clark – Directorandrewclark

Andrew has been involved with Harlaw Hydro
since the detailed Design and Construction process started in 2013. A Chartered Civil Engineer and Information Technology Professional he was a member of the Technical Team that delivered the successful project including close supervision of contractors on site.

Alister Skinner – Director

Formerly aalisterskinner geologist with the British Antarctic Survey and the British Geological Survey responsible for the entire UK Marine Operations Programme of the British Geological Survey.

In 2007 he set up his own consulting company collecting core data for foundation and environmental issues surrounding infrastructure projects particularly in the field of renewable energy in Iceland, Japan and the UK.

The logistical, contractual and interactive expertise involved in all of the above was put to good practical use while working with the Harlaw Hydro team.